Sydney NYE 2020

  • Organiser/Event Creative Director/Fireworks Soundtrack Producer: New South Wales Government
  • Fireworks Provider: Foti International Fireworks
  • Radio Broadcaster: KIIS 106.5 (fireworks soundtrack) & ABC Radio (Concert – From 10pm)
  • Television/Internet Broadcaster: Australian Broadcasting Corporation
  • Television/Internet Broadcast Host: Charlie Pickering (Melbourne)
  • ‘We Are One’ Charity Concert Co-Host: Zan Rowe (Melbourne)
  • Co-Hosts: Jeremy Fernandez (Sydney) & Linda Marigliano (Sydney)

This year did not feature a theme again. It will remain like this until 2021.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, restrictions on event attendance were put in place. No one can enter the Sydney central business district without a dedicated ticket to a hospitality venue that has a COVID-Safe Plan.

The vantage points were to be reserved for frontline workers & firefighters.

Welcome To Country

Starts at 9:05pm.

‘We Are One’ Charity Concert

Starts at 9:10pm. Live on ABC Radio from 10pm.

The concert will raise funds for Lifeline & Kids Helpline.


  • Sydney Opera House Northern Forecourt
  • Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne

The Sydney audience was to be made up of people nominated by their community as “local heroes” having made a real difference through the COVID-19 pandemic.


  • Casey Donovan (Melbourne)
  • Paul Kelly (Melbourne)
  • Vera Blue (Sydney)
  • Amy Shark (Sydney)
  • DMA’S (Sydney)
  • Ben Lee (Sydney)
  • Odette (Sydney)
  • The Teskey Brothers (Melbourne)

And “very special guests” from Melbourne!


  1. We Are All In This Together – Ben Lee
  2. I Am Woman (Odette Cover) – Helen Reddy

Midnight Fireworks

The show this year is designed for television.

At 12:03am, there was a tribute to frontline health workers.

  1. New Sensation (Nick 12″ Mix) – INXS
  2. Pop A Bottle – Jessica Mauboy
  3. Thank You (For Loving Me At My Worst)The Whitlams (begins with “Thank You” being spoken by random NSW citizens)
  4. I’ve Got The Music in Me – Marcia Hines
  5. Everybody Rise – Amy Shark
  6. Day By DayPowderfinger
  7. What About MeMoving Pictures
  8. You’re The Voice – John Farnham featuring Brian May, Olivia Newton-John, Mitch Tambo, Alan McKenzie & a cast of pipers and firefighters.

Finished with the quote from a woman – “Thank you”

…and then a man – “Thanks Sydney. See you next time”.